Quilt Progress… Fox In Moonlight

So after studying my fox for a few days, I started the fabric search through my stash. I decided to do the fox by moonlight. Something I haven’t done before. Every sky color I auditioned near the fox didn’t stand out as dramatic as this batik, which is where I got the night sky idea. So this is the first stage. I haven’t cut the fox out in detail yet.

DSC_0002

Then I decided to put a tree behind the wall and this is how I start the process. I build a base with minimal branches. I used this beautiful batik that already gives me the feeling of bark. It will look more like it when I start the thread painting . The moon is of freezer paper at this point. I think I like the size and will paint fabric with pale grey, pale blue and white metallic.

DSC_0005

I chose the batik for the ground because it has so much going on. Great leaf prints, and dark colors for night time scenery.

DSC_0006

Now the fox is cut out in detail and the moon is  hand painted fabric. I am really happy with how it turned out. It has just a bit of glimmer and has darker spots like the surface of the moon. I chose to do fall colored leaves on the tree. I had this beautiful metallic Christmas fabric that works perfectly for some of the leaves with moonlight on them. I think the tree  might be a sweet gum tree. Not sure. I’ll have to give it its own genus. The darker leaves are a deep burgundy batik and then there is a medium orange print for the mid tone leaves. Lots of cutting fabric with the fusing fused to the back.

DSC_0010

I do love ferns, so they were added and some fallen leaves and some twig-like plants. This entire quilt is only in the fused stage. I will stare at this for a few days and see what else it needs before I start the fun of quilting it all. Can’t wait!

5 thoughts on “Quilt Progress… Fox In Moonlight

  1. Thanks guys, You know I do everything fast. I would still be sewing today, but I am waiting on a thread order to arrive. Can’t wait for the new colors and get back to quilting it.

  2. Pingback: Foxy Finale | Family Style Living

  3. Pingback: Quilt News | Family Style Living

Leave a Reply

