The Big Commitment

Well I said it a post or two ago. I AM GOING TO LOSE WEIGHT! I knew it would be scary telling the world, not to mention closest friends, family and most of all I made a pact with my son-in-law. We both plan on getting fit again. I have been on a binge of eating healthy and not dieting. I have been watching Dr. Oz to get remotivated and educated in what is new. I have tried to be very active in my retirement, but the social aspect of where I live is very fattening. Anyway, enough with excuses. It must come off.Β  I know I will feel better and it is better for me. The first thing I have been doing is making Dr. Oz’s Green Drink. I actually look forward to it every morning. Other mornings it is oatmeal with apples diced on top. I have given up milk and gone totally soy milk, which I love. I have learned that as we age , cow’s milk doesn’t always agree with us anymore, and I love soy milk. So I am taking baby steps. That Green Drink is so filling and satisfying that it holds me for hours. I keep hard boiled eggs in the fridge for lunch which again keeps me satisfied for hours. Chop one egg with some of the Hickory Smoked Tuna from the foil packs and I am happy. One has to start with baby steps. We all have to learn what our own body uses and keeps us going. So I am trying to up my protein and stay away from sugar. Sugar makes me want more sugar. So that is a no- brainer. Here is a pic of one of my first drinks.

DSC_0225

Isn’t it pretty? It calls for fresh ginger that you have to peel. Lets face it, convenience will get us farther, so I bought minced ginger in a tube. There are no preservatives, or anything else except ginger. So I feel this is a good convenient way to go. You will find it in the fresh herbs area. Dr. Oz suggests you add a banana to the initial drinks so you like it better. I do love bananas, but the apple that goes in it, really does the job. I have also been making my own smoothies with berries, but I always include the spinach and cucumber. I got my big straw from Panera Bread and I keep washing it because it is perfect for smoothies. Well I am not going to go on and on, but I did want to fulfill my commitment by explaining that I really intend to do this. I have lost 4 lbs in about 1 1/2 weeks and feel good.Β  I am doing a lot of stretching in my own living room so I can get back to badminton. Did anyone see the Dateline show on what sitting does to us? That is the other area I am attacking. My Etsy shop has kept me a bit sedate, let alone, quilting. So now I break often and do some movement. Yoga is one thing I enjoy and you can do that anywhere. So there, I’ve said it. I’ll keep you posted.

12 thoughts on “The Big Commitment

  1. I too am drinking a green drink in the mornings, soy milk, protein powder, banana, spinach and oil. People think it sounds terrible, but the fruit makes it sweet. We just started using FaceTime , let me tell ya, seeing a picture of yourself up close will make one want to change your life style. (Didn’t want to use the word diet )

  2. My fav parts of this are 1) the old Osterizer, 2) the recycled Panera straw and 3) the challenge with Chad! He just joined a Title Boxing gym so look out! πŸ˜‰
    Way to go, Mom!

  3. You guys just made me glad I did this. Thanks. It actually helps to tell others. I am having a cup of hot tea now instead of something with calories and I am very satisfied. And my dear daughter, my Osterizer is a beast, but Mothers Day is coming if it makes you feel better… and retired people keep great straws! Right Joyce an Diane. Yuk, yuk. πŸ™‚

    • Bertha, just click on the highlighted area in my first paragraph. It says Dr. Ozs Green Drink. Click on that and it will take you right to the recipe.hope you like it. It really has a wonderful fresh taste.

  4. Best of luck, Pam! I’m working on getting back to more healthy foods and exercise – we all can benefit from that as a lifestyle – and you know how much I love my sweets! So keep up the good work!

  5. Thanks, I feel so much better already. Sweets are tough for me to give up also. Here is a tip. When I start that looking around wanting something sweet, I make a hot cup of Tazo Wild Sweet Orange tea. It is wonderful. My fave is Tazo Chi tea, but I am having a heck of a time finding the tea bags anywhere. I must of bragged on it too much. πŸ™‚

Leave a Reply

