New City Living

Finally, I have set foot in our new home-to-be and acquired internet access with which to share it with you all! I’m caught between two cities, finishing up work in Pittsburgh, packing up our home in Pittsburgh, but getting oriented in my new position in DC (well, the DC metro area) and getting started in a new home. Many days of packing, trucking, unpacking, etc are yet ahead, but here’s a first look at our new townhouse. Bonus, these are also the first videos shared on Family Style Living- woo hoo! The selling renting points on this place were 1) it was an end-unit which = more separation from neighbors, 2) it included a private yard of reasonable size for Ollie and 3) it was a good location for commuting to work for both us at a reasonable cost. So, without further ado, here she is…

Part 1:

Part 2:

I realize it is ironic that I say “storage” about 36 times in these videos, given that this house probably has half the storage of our Pittsburgh house. And I noticed that I neglected to acknowledge until the end for my shaky camera skills, even though I start off the video sideways and shake pretty much the whole time— sorry! And I ran out of memory card space which is why the video ended on the backyard leftovers, but the backyard will get cleaned up, trimmed up and grass grown ASAP. A little explanation too, we are choosing to rent because this is such a large area that we really want to take the time to know our way around and get familiar with the commutes prior to committing to a mortage, AND home costs around here are 3-4 times what they were in Pittsburgh so it’s quite a bit bigger commitment. Hopefully if things go well, we’ll be able to get back into homeownership after a couple/few years. But for now… we need to pack!

5 thoughts on “New City Living

  1. Very nice Lindsey! I love all the natural light and can’t wait to see pictures after you get moved in. Unfortunately I couldn’t get the sound to work on my laptop (which often happens with videos) so I couldn’t hear what you were saying. I especially enjoyed how your dog accompanied you throughout the house so in my mind I was imagining what she might be saying if she could talk. 🙂

  2. Looks like a nice, clean, bright place for the three of you and I’m sure you will make it homey very quickly. It will look great with of of your cute, colorful furnishings! Enjoy your new place – looks almost as nice as the place in Wyoming 😉
    Sue

  3. Pingback: FSL First Year | Family Style Living

Leave a Reply

