Cottage Overhaul

Since I love to design and decorate, Lindsey thought I should be adding some of my cottage design ideas I have incorporated into our home in Tennessee. I get pretty caught up in my jewelry making and quilting, but I do love to decorate. When we decided to move to Tellico Village 4 years ago, there wasn’t a lot to choose from in housing (our price range and size). We knew we wanted to downsize, so we found this little 1600 sq. foot house with a beautiful yard full of trees and flowers and ….lots of work. Anyway I started to dig in and make some major changes. We actually thought we would be fine in a small house, but at that time we didn’t know the social activities of this community and it wasn’t long that we decided we needed more space. We didn’t want to leave this great neighborhood or lose our view of the Smokey Mountains straight out our front door. So we started on a process of 3 different remodels across 3 years. Whew! Now we love it. Here are some before pics and then I’ll show you how things have changed. I’ll start with the kitchen for today. Turquoise and pink and plaid all over. Track lighting and popcorn, oh boy. This is the day we bought it, while the previous owner is still in the house

Before

This is how it looks today. There is a process to it all, but our last big reno was a 2 years ago and what a difference it has made. I’m a HGTV addict, so I knew walls are not necessary, well not all of them anyway.  Here is the kitchen now.

After

We removed the wall that was at the end of the counter, added granite, bead boar ceilings and bar front, wood floor (which I love and will never have carpet in my great room again) and tile in the kitchen.We bought a hand scraped engineered wood floor that has so much definition. The wall removal made such a difference. It gave the room an open feeling. We checked into having all the popcorn removed from the ceilings but really loved the idea of white bead board ceilings throughout the main house.  We had the center beam  beefed up to a chunky white look. Both changes gave it such a cozy feeling. I will show more of the big changes as time goes by. We really love our house now. It’s perfect for 2 busy retired people.

2 thoughts on “Cottage Overhaul

  1. Pingback: Month-In-Review | Family Style Living

Leave a Reply

