The Many Arts of Mom

My mother is an artist. In “real life” she was a nurse. But in thinking back over the course of my life to date, I can’t think of a medium that my mom hasn’t spun into art. I remember discovering old poster-size drawings she made in high school that– though I found them quite impressive!– were jammed in the back of our basement storage closet, as if to say, ‘Oh, just those old things…’ Then there was a tiny painting of a new foal that I really took a liking to as a kid and found her name painted across the bottom corner. She made arrangements of flowers and such on the front porch for entrants to our home to enjoy, but then captured them in watercolor or pastels to be later displayed on the walls of our home when the particular season illustrated came around once again. During summers when we were young and out of school, she hosted backyard art classes for the neighborhood brood consisting of anything from paper mache to puff-painted hats and tee-shirts (hey, it was the 80’s). These days, mom enjoys jewelry and the fabric and fiber arts. Some may call it quilting or knitting, but there is hand-dyeing involved, building photographs out of millions of tiny pieces of fabric, lots of detailed stitching… I even have a “quilt” wall hanging of our pride and joy, Ollie the Border Collie, from a time when we were hiking in Tennessee, where my parents are now retired. It is literally a photograph we took made out of fabric.

I, on the other hand, am a scientist. Atleast, that’s my “real life” title. But I like to think I have a bit of Mom in me, and as I have begun my own life as a full-fledged adult, I enjoy pushing at the edges of my box a bit in styling my home and self. Since we live over 500 miles apart (and have lived generally at that distance or farther for the past 10 years), this blog is going to be our creative mixing ground to share with each other, as well as you, our latest endeavors in style and life.

Leave a Reply

